top of page
Search
  • Stephen

Animal Blogging - Days 3-6

Day 3 - March 22nd

Had what felt like my first quiet day on the island today, did some fishing and bug collecting, caught a couple of new fish - I do hope the museum opening isn't delayed, the amount of space in my home taken up by bugs and fish is now beyond silly - and crafted a lovely log dining table. When I'm able to clear the fish out of the house I'll have to send a snap of how I've got my house set up. Speaking of snaps, the photo is of me and Agnes having a quiet moment together in the plaza. Sadly I wasn't able to find enough iron nuggets to help Timmy and Tommy set up their shop, with a net gain, after repairing my fishing rod and net, being only one or two, but I did find a gold nugget, so that's something I guess? No clue what I'm going to do with that yet.


Day 4 - March 23rd

The museum opened today, Tom Nook asked Blathers to say a few words. I think he already thought that might be a mistake when he said it, considering the emphasis he put on few. Blathers... Gave a full speech, but he was so happy giving it that it's hard to mind. I know I said I'd send a snap of the house when I cleared it of fish and bugs but the atmosphere in the new museum is just so lovely I couldn't help myself but send a picture of me sitting in the first room in the fish section instead! First day no more pressing photo opportunity happens I'll show how my house is currently decorated, I swear.


The first piece of workout equipment arrived, so I've been able to start setting up an outdoor gym for Sheldon, and a hammock I found in a balloon also allowed me to set up an outdoor camping area on some rocks. I also took another island tour via the Nook Miles program today. Met a cute rabbit called Cole. He was happy to be able to point at nature and say that it's nature, suggesting he might want to live in a place like that. I told him to get in touch with Tom Nook since there's plenty of fairly undisturbed places on Vulpes where he can do just that. He seemed nice, I hope he does. Thanks mostly to that tour I was able to get almost enough iron ore to get enough materials together to help Timmy and Tommy open a new store - Just 7 to go! Agnes and Sheldon both have houses now, so when the shop can open Vulpes should start feeling like a small town.


Day 5 - March 24th

Here's the snap of my house I've been meaning to send for a couple of days now. I've already made a couple of changes to the layout, mind - The kitchen scale on the table has been joined, and the wallpaper's different now. Also thanks to a very generous balloon (I might have managed anyway) I was able to finish paying off my home loan, and Tom Nook offered to expand my house, so I should have some more space tomorrow. Was even able to gather up enough iron to donate to. Nothing much else to report about today. Thinking about going for a walk tonight.


Day 5 Update

So, I went for a walk tonight, getting some of that nighttime island atmosphere - There's a gorgeous night sky here - and I bumped into some kind of spirit. Seems like a friendly one, too. He's called Wisp. He's scared of ghosts, and mistook me for one! I accidentally spooked him so much that parts of him scattered across the island, which I had to search down. Hope future encounters with the fellow won't startle him as much.


Day 6 - March 25th

The expansion gives me loads of room, it's great, and feels about the least significant thing that happened today! The opening ceremony for Timmy and Tommy's new shop - Nook's Cranny - was lovely, and they were able to keep their brief words brief. They're now offering a 'hot item' service, which is a single item that sells for double. It was stone stools today, which I took advantage of by crafting a bunch. Not so many to take me completely out of stone, mine. Gulliver also washed up on the island again, not sure I believe him about the sea monster. He's fine, though I wonder how long of a break his crew will decide to have from his... unique... personality this time. It's nice to have him visit (even if he could probably pick healthier ways of doing so) but being in his company for more than a short period must be exhausting!


During Tom Nook's morning announcement, he got a phone call, and when I went to use the ABD first thing he got another. People are starting to be interested in moving to the island. Tom needed some help picking out and setting up the new homes, also with placing a bridge. Maybe he should have asked someone else to help with that last one - that bridge is going to lead straight between the plaza and my small orchard! Picking the locations was easy, getting them some simple furniture for both inside and outside their homes took a whole lot longer, needed to use two island tours to gather enough pears for the pear bed and pear wardrobe. In exchange for that, Tom Nook gave me a whole bunch of fences, the first bit of which I used to fence off the little garden I've got outside of my house, as you can see in today's photo. Apparently, we might have a new neighbour tomorrow. Can't wait.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Compelling Nature of Directed Building

I finally got around to picking up Dragon Quest Builders 2 recently. While initially intending to play it as a side game, over the past month or so, I hit about 100 hours of Dragon Quest Builders 2. B

Favourite Games Played in 2020

My favourite games I played for the first time this year (no guarantee of when the game actually released), in alphabetical order Animal Crossing: New Horizons Not just because it's 2020. I've been on

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page